Macro shots

During our last trip to Malta I found the time to catch up with my second-cousin Brian, and his great talent at miniature modeling. I suggested meeting up to take a few close-up shots, and he liked the idea…

So I drove down with my gear, and set up the tripod. With his regular painting lamp and a plain green felt cloth as a backdrop, we focused on his latest miniatures. Photos are with my 50mm f/1.4 prime, and one of the (+1/+2/+4) close-up lens attachments. They’re not supposed to be as good as a proper macro lens (or at least a tube extension), but in fact they get the job done pretty well. Or so I think; judge for yourselves. Color is matched using a grey card. No further processing has been done to the images. Next time I just plan to use better lighting.

Leave a Comment

