Getting the Wacom tablet to work after suspend

Since upgrading my Ubuntu desktop recently from 10.04 LTS (Lucid) to 12.04 LTS (Precise), I noticed that the Wacom tablet I often use as a mouse replacement stopped working after a suspend/resume cycle. Even a hardware unplug/replug would not cause it to work again. And for me the suspend/resume cycle has become a staple: it makes it quick to start using the computer again, consumes a negligible amount of power while on standby, and I don’t have to bother setting up my workspace again. I can’t recall the last time I actually rebooted. Probably with the last kernel update.

Anyway, as usual I digress. After some Googling, it turns out the cause is rather simple: the wacom kernel driver needs to be removed before a suspend. The fix is likewise easy: just add ‘wacom’ to the list of modules to be removed on suspend in:

/usr/lib/pm-utils/defaults
Leave a Comment

