Corfe Castle

Yesterday we finally went on a long-planned day trip to Dorset that we had been putting off for one reason or another for some time. The highlight was a visit to Corfe Castle, perched on a steep hill just above a medieval town. The idea was to walk in the surrounding countryside with views of the castle. We left the car at the park and ride, just by the Swanage Railway, a heritage line running from there to Swanage. On the way back to the car, just before sunset, as I walked past the station, I noticed the last few people boarding and figured it would not be long until the train departed. Sadly from this point of view I could only get a reasonable composition with the train going away, and the castle ruins visible just behind the steam. I only had a short while to switch the lens onto the digital body and set up. The other photos I took will have to wait until I develop the roll of film I was shooting with.

Leave a Comment

