Lidwell Copse

Lidwell-Copse-(130131)This weekend I found myself going through the Ilford shots again and spent some time processing one of those images I had not planned but was sure would turn out great. With the development mishap things were of course not quite what I had in mind when I pressed the trigger, but then with my choice of subjects it did add a certain character. This image was taken in Lidwell Copse, a thicket on the slopes of St Martha’s Hill, round about sunrise in early December last year. The original plan was to reach St Martha’s before sunrise, but I did not factor in enough time. With all the fog that morning, no harm was done, and I’m glad I went through these trees when it was already light. There is always something special about trees in the fog, as long as you don’t feel all creeped out about it.

The image was taken with my EOS Elan II and the 17-40mm f/4L lens at its wider end. Film used was Ilford Pan F Plus at its rated 50 ISO exposure index. The film was underdeveloped and the negative scan needed about +3¼ stops exposure increase, hence the graininess and the lack of detail in the shadows.

As always, you can click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

One comment

Leave a Comment

