Puttenham Common

Puttenham-Common-(7039)A more conventional image from my walk near Puttenham in the bank holiday weekend. I used this walk to experiment with the practicality of using my ND filters and portable tripod when I’m going more than a few minutes from my car. It turns out it’s not as impractical as I feared, but in the end it’s still worth setting things up on a tripod with a cable release. This takes time, which must be factored into one’s plans. Otherwise, the additional gear is not a significant issue. The tripod is light, and the filters weigh next to nothing. Though I miss the greater stability of the tripod’s bigger sibling, I definitely don’t miss its weight on my back.

This image was taken as a single exposure with a hard 0.9 ND filter to keep the sky in range, handheld on my 30D with the 17-40mm lens at its widest. Processing involved the usual selective curves for contrast adjustment, and unusually a slight selective saturation increase. Bright light really mutes colours out.

As always, you can click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

