The Old Royal Naval College

Old-Royal-Naval-CollegeOver the last week or so I’ve been busy editing the photos from the Kodak roll. I keep feeling surprised at how many more keepers I get on film, but I know I shouldn’t. It’s just that I’m doing more editing while I shoot, and the whole process is that bit more deliberate, for me at least. Anyway, today I’m back with another shot from Greenwich, this time featuring the outside of the Old Royal Naval College. I had my back to the statue of George II as I took this, and had to wait a while for a family to get out of the way – I’m sure they just didn’t realise how wide a 17mm lens gets.

The image was taken handheld with my EOS Elan II and the 17-40mm f/4L lens at its wider end. Film used was Kodak TMX-100 at its rated 100 ISO exposure index. Processing involved some perspective correction and the usual selective curves for contrast adjustment. This is where I’m starting to feel that getting a tilt/shift lens would not be a bad idea. I’m sure it would get some mileage with me.

As always, you can click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

