End of Line

Highcomb-(7120)In eager anticipation of what promises to be another sunny weekend (seriously? two in a row? I thought that never happened in the UK!), here’s another shot from last week. This is from a walk near Hindhead, overlooking Highcomb copse. I almost missed this view. As I was walking along the Greensand way I observed, among the trees and bushes to my left, that there seemed to be a wooden bench close by. Just a little further on I found the (narrow) path that led back in that direction – I took this a very short way and came upon the bench and this view. On the full size image you can easily read the “No Path” engraving on the short wooden post. Talk about stating the obvious.

I set up the camera on the tripod as I was sitting comfortably on the bench with my camera gear by my side. All I had to do was wait for the right moment as the sun lit the white tree in the valley bottom. Not a long time later I’d be walking along that valley, with its white tree and grazing horses.

The image was taken as a single exposure with my 30D and 17-40mm lens at its widest. A hard-edge 0.9 ND filter was used to keep the bright sky in range. Processing involved the usual selective curves for contrast adjustment, and a partial cooling filter for the sky.

As always, you can click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

