St Nicholas’ Church

St-Nicholas'-Church-(130231)

Following the series of photos from Black Down, I’m going back a bit with a photo from early May. I passed by St Nicholas’ church in Pyrford on a walk by the river (and through a golf course) that I had long been wanting to do. This view appeared right after a short uphill walk through some woodland, and struck me as particularly British. The medieval village church, with its graveyard, pretty much at the top of a hill. And a narrow winding road the only access.

The image was taken handheld with my EOS Elan II and the 17-40mm f/4L lens at 17mm. Film used was Kodak TMX-100 at its rated 100 ISO exposure index. Processing involved some perspective correction, and the usual selective curves for contrast adjustment. I should really consider getting a tilt-shift lens. As well as film development kit and chemicals. I have enjoyed the process of working with black & white film.

As always, you can click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

2 comments

    • Thanks for stopping by, Mark! You should give it a go; it’s quite an experience! Personally I found black and white film to be very forgiving, and paired with my wide angle lens worked great. It’s nice to slow down. 🙂

Leave a Comment

