Fields of Gold

Fields of Gold (0281)

Last weekend I went for a walk around Oxted. The highlight (to me at least) that I was looking forward to in this walk was a (relatively) steep climb up the hill overlooking the town and the train line exiting a tunnel through the same hill. The walk itself was fine enough for these domesticated counties, and the views from the hill towards town enjoyable as I had my lunch. But my first image from this outing has nothing of this. As I came upon the hill I saw that the sides were planted with what I guess is wheat, and the colour was quite something. Perhaps this just shows my age, for of course Sting came to mind. I tried a few compositions so I would have a few to choose from later, but in the end this is the one I preferred.

The image was taken handheld as a single exposure. Processing involved global curves to adjust the contrast, and very minor retouching to hide two or three stray blades of green grass that I felt were too distracting.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

