Into Darkness

Into Darkness (0329)

It has been a very busy week, and all of a sudden I realise it’s time for another post. I still have a few folders to process from this weekend, but that will take a while. Meanwhile, I know there are still quite a few images from recent weeks that I have not shared yet.

Today’s image is from a walk on Hydons Ball and Heath a couple weeks ago. This is where there’s a memorial to Octavia Hill, one of the co-founders of the National Trust. The walk goes through wooded areas and a few farms, and there’s even a medieval church along the way. In short, countryside that is British to the core.

At one point, as the directions so elegantly put it, “the track enters the woods”. I was approaching this point as the sun was distinctly getting lower in the sky. What with the open sky that I was about to leave, and the track heading directly towards the impenetrable darkness below the trees, this rather reminded me from a scene in The Hobbit. (The book, of course. I don’t think Peter Jackson’s first film has reached that point yet.) I rather sympathised with poor Bilbo on the eaves of Mirkwood.

The image was taken handheld as a single exposure. I don’t usually go for black & white conversions – in fact I think every black & white image I have shared so far was taken on B&W film. For this particular image, however, I could not get the relationships I wanted in colour, as all the greens started to merge together. I used a (digital) red filter to darken the sky and highlight the dry grass, helping to separate the foreground grass from the trees at the back. Some slight cropping and global curves to adjust contrast completed things. Technically I think the most challenging thing was to keep everything in focus.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

