Clouds and Harvest

Clouds and Harvest (0314)

Some people like summer. I can’t say it’s not nice when the weather is warm, but blue skies can be rather boring. And the clouds do give some respite from the unrelenting sun. So when it comes to choose I’ll have scattered sunshine any day. And of course, you don’t get sights like these when it’s just sunny.

Today’s image is from the same walk as the last post, in Hydon Heath. I was walking past a number of harvested fields when the sun broke between the clouds. I was eager to keep walking but I could not resist such light.

The image was taken handheld as a single exposure. In retrospect, I wish I had taken the time to set up the tripod and used a ND grad to balance the sky exposure better with the field in the foreground. Instead, I exposed for the sky, and let the foreground fall where it would. Processing involved the usual selective curves to balance the exposure and improve contrast. Again, unusually for me, I went with a B&W conversion using a (digital) red filter. I felt that the colour was not contributing anything to the image, and the dark foreground felt rather dull.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

2 comments

  1. Very true, I can see the challenge in capturing this image in one exposure and as you pointed out, a graduated ND filter would certainly have helped. However, I think the image turned out well and great job capturing the God rays.

    • Thanks Mark, and thanks for stopping by! As I was processing this I could kick myself for not ‘doing it properly’, as it were. But yes the drama is all in the sky and I’m happy I exposed that right. 🙂

Leave a Comment

