Guildford Cathedral at Sunset

Cathedral at Sunset (0236)

I was recently reading a news article about how Guildford Cathedral is getting a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund to help with its upkeep. I had not realized the cathedral was in such a precarious financial position until I saw the article. For such a recent build it has plenty of charm, particularly on the inside, which feels light and spacious. It definitely looks great during the University’s award ceremonies, which take place inside. (The cathedral sits atop Cathedral Hill, overlooking the main university campus at Stag Hill.)

The photo above was taken about a couple months ago, in the middle of summer. R and I had gone up to cathedral hill to watch the sunset, for no better reason than the sky looking so great and the breeze so refreshing. I keep telling myself that one of these days I need to organize a visit to take some pictures of the inside. One of these days…

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. In post, some perspective correction was necessary to keep the building looking straight, and the usual selective curves to balance the brightness of the sky and the building, and to adjust the contrast. I obviously had to trim the edges to compensate for the perspective correction.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

One comment

Leave a Comment

