Through the Looking Glass

Through the Looking Glass (0547)

Yesterday the photographic society organized its now-annual walk around Guildford; this comes at just the right time to welcome new members and help them realize we’re a friendly bunch. The weather was classic British: overcast, often drizzling, etc. Rather expectedly, I found it rather challenging to find new things to take pictures of, so I decided to take the opportunity to experiment. I cannot take credit for the concept behind this image though – I had seen this treatment in Andy’s flickr stream a few years back. The image intrigued me then, so here’s my take on the concept. The statue is a sculpture by Jeanne Argent, and can be found in the Guildford Castle grounds.

The image was taken handheld as a single exposure. The effect is created by using a long shutter duration, holding the camera still (well, as far as possible) for about half the time, and zooming out for the second half. Processing involved some selective curves to balance the exposure within the frame, and some global curves for adjusting contrast. As a first attempt, I found this to be reasonable. Next time I try anything like this, though, a tripod is in order. Also, I need to remind myself that I should try more than one shot, to give me some flexibility in post.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

Leave a Comment

