Turning Leaves

Winkworth Arboretum (0609)

When posting about photography lately I’ve been finding myself with plenty to choose from and too little time to write about it. Frankly that’s how I prefer it to be. Part of the reason for keeping up the blog posts about photography is to provide the necessary impetus to actually take more photos, which to me is the whole point of photography. I enjoy the creative process involved as well as the excuse to be out in the country. Though I must add that most of my excursions of this kind are (as they say) trips where photos are taken, rather than photography trips.

Anyway, today I wanted to share another photo from last week’s visit to Winkworth Arboretum. This particular photo took a bit more effort, in the sense that after setting up we waited a while (for what for R must have seemed like forever) for the changing light. Unfortunately, it seems we had just missed the last of the bright rays of light that illuminated the topmost trees a few minutes earlier, and the sun went behind almost-continual cover.

As with the previous image, the above image was taken tripod-mounted as a single exposure. In this case, a ND grad filter was used to keep the sky within the camera’s exposure range. Processing involved only some selective curves for exposure balancing and the usual global curves for adjusting contrast. Although it may not seem like I had, I left the colour settings for a faithful reproduction. The intensity of colour in the grass is most likely due to the moisture and the lack of direct light.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments welcome.

One comment

Leave a Comment

