Black and White

Black and White (0761)

One of the recent meetings at the photographic society was themed around composition. The presentation was followed by a workshop-type session where everyone was invited to take pictures to be critiqued later. Knowing this would happen after the sun went down and that we’d likely be staying inside I took our new macro lens instead of my normal zoom. This exercise would also serve to help me learn the aesthetics and behaviour of this lens and force me to see images that I would not normally see.

As it turns out, this lens performs amazingly. Between its wide aperture, image stabilisation, and the high sensitivity of modern sensors, I had no problem shooting with available light. Its sharpness even under these conditions took me by surprise. In any case, the above image is the first I’m sharing from that evening. The piano, poor thing, seems to have had its share of abuse. I guess this is to be expected in a classroom setting.

The image above was taken handheld as a single exposure. The small distance to the subject and the wide aperture result in a very shallow depth of field. I stopped when I thought I had a composition that worked. Almost symmetrical, just like a piano keyboard. If I remember correctly, processing involved only slight rotation to completely straighten the shot and global curves to set overall contrast.

As always, I encourage you to click on the image for a larger version; comments and questions welcome.

Leave a Comment

