Candlelight

Candlelight (1079)

I did not expect to be using the macro lens more than R. So it’s rather odd that I’m finding myself experimenting with it so often. An image I’ve had in mind for quite a while is a still life lit only by candlelight, with the candle itself visible in the scene. There is something mesmerizing about a naked flame, particularly when it’s the only light source. Before I get to that, though, I figured I’d start with a study on a candle by itself. This is a small candle, about an inch high, in a simple tea light holder. It’s very festive, with a red skin covered in glitter.

The image itself was taken handheld as a single exposure. I think I just focused manually on the wick, and tried a range of exposure settings. The flame itself was always overexposed, of course. There is just too much contrast. I decided to start with the brightest image, and in post I darkened the background (which was mostly lens flare) and the reflection on the tea light holder which felt too prominent.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

Leave a Comment

