St Peter’s Hambledon

St Peter's Hambledon (0326)

This week has been rather busy, and last weekend’s walk, while very enjoyable, did not inspire me to take out my camera. So today I’m sharing an image from late August last year. This was from a walk near Hydon Heath, from which I’ve already shared two images. Both in black and white, incidentally – clearly I was in a monochrome frame of mind during that walk. I remember thinking of this image in black and white as I composed – I generally find that my monochrome images are intentional, so this is no surprise.

The walk I followed passes through the village of Hambledon (the one in Surrey, not the one in Hampshire), and just by St Peter’s church above. It was a nice day for a walk, and I recall seeing many other walkers (and their dogs) on that day.

I took this image handheld as a single exposure. In retrospect, I wish I took the time to set up and do it properly, as it were, with a tripod and filters. This is something I’m trying to get myself in the habit of doing as a matter of procedure. In post it didn’t need a lot of work: just a black and white conversion with (if I remember correctly) an orange filter, and a selective curves layer to bring out the shadow area in front (mimicking a grad filter).

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

Leave a Comment

