Woodland Clearing

Woodland Clearing (1117)

Sometimes I have no idea how to begin a blog post. This seems to happen more often when I’m about to share a photo from a walk that I have already written about. Today’s post definitely backs up that theory. I took this photo in Chatley heath, on the same walk that took me to Bolder mere. The area is a Site of Special Scientific Interest, managed by the Surrey Wildlife Trust.

We came upon this clearing at the edge of the heath and as I saw some clouds rolling in I set up to try another long exposure. Although I took this before the one at Bolder mere, I shared that first as it was simpler to process. This one needed a bit more work.

This photo is a single exposure, tripod mounted, with a grad filter to keep the sky in check, and the Big Stopper for the long exposure. Post processing involved the usual curves layers to adjust contrast, and a vibrance layer to intensify the colours.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

Leave a Comment

