Vernal Equinox

Magnolia (1210)

I realized only this morning that Spring is officially here already. By all accounts we’ve had a mild, if wet, winter. Not even a light dusting of snow down here. Still, we greet the Spring with joy. Here’s hoping the weather keeps as well as it has been for the past week or so.

I took this picture just last week; the tree was in full bloom and it was quite a sight. Today the wind picked up and by now many of the petals have blown away and are strewn along the pavement. Oddly, the tree still looks as full as ever.

As you can surely tell I’ve been experimenting with the macro lens quite a bit lately. I enjoy the process, learning to look at things from a new point of view. Still, the depth of field gets really shallow as the subject is so close. I need to learn to use smaller apertures, which will surely mean higher ISO settings. Thankfully the lens has an optical stabilizer. I guess I’ll find out soon enough if it can really keep up.

As the flower was still on the tree, I took this handheld, as a single exposure. In post, I just did the usual selective curves layers to balance the brightness and contrast, plus a color layer to lessen the blue cast that comes with shooting in the shade. I avoided compensating further as I wanted to keep the subtle pink at the base of the petals. I hope you like the result.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

Leave a Comment

