Managed Forest

Managed Forest (1151)

It has been an eventful long weekend, spent mostly outside, and involving a fair amount of photography. I think it will take me a while to be able to process all the photos. This is not all bad. It’s a good opportunity to share more images from the past few weeks that I did not get around to share before.

This particular image takes me back to a walk in Chobham common that I did a few weeks ago. I mentioned before how wooded Surrey is. A blog reader pointed out that Surrey is in fact the most wooded county in England, at almost twice the national average (according to Wikipedia). Some of this is natural and some is managed. The former will show itself in a few weeks, as bluebells make their annual display in ancient woodland. The latter, however, is as much part of the countryside. I, for one, enjoy walking through these woods.

I took this photo tripod-mounted, as a single exposure. I used a soft grad filter to keep the brightness of the sky in check, and a polarizing filter to improve colour rendition by reducing glare. In post I partially corrected perspective and applied the usual selective curves to adjust contrast.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

One comment

Leave a Comment

