Fixed Gaze

Fixed Gaze (1168)

Can’t believe it’s almost a month since our quick trip to Oxford and its Museum of Natural History. Knowing the museum was a major highlight, I had taken my macro lens with me. I mentioned before that I have a number of photos to share from that visit, so here’s the first.

One thing that struck me about the museum is its mixture of old and new. Old as in the late 19th century Grade 1 listed building itself, and the busts and statues of scientists and luminaries surrounding the main hall. New as in the hands-on experience of the museum, one meant not only to house important artifacts, but to allow the visitor to experience them as fully as possible.

In this spirit, a number of artifacts are meant to be touched. To the right, as you enter, was a circle of stuffed wild animals. I couldn’t help feel sorry for them. What can I say? Scenes like this always find me conflicted. I’d rather see them alive and free, but at the same time I recognize that here they serve a purpose.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. Post-processing was minimal, involving only a curves layer to adjust contrast a little.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

Leave a Comment

