New Growth

New Growth (1497)

Today I’m sharing another photo from that visit to Winkworth arboretum a few weeks ago. At the time, the trees had just started showing new growth. I tried a few compositions of the new leaves backlit by the late afternoon sun, and this is the one I liked best. We visited again this weekend, and it’s amazing how different the trees look now, after just a few weeks. It will take a while until I process and share those photos. I find this is not a process to be hurried, which puts me at odds with today’s share-immediately social-networking mindset.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. With such shots, setting exposure is a bit trickier than usual as most of the scene is dark with a few very bright spots. The solution is simple: I exposed to place the tree bark at (I think) about -1 stop. In post I applied the usual curves layers to fine-tune contrast and exposure.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

Leave a Comment

