Scathes Wood

Scathes Wood (1849)

During the Easter break, a couple weeks ago, we visited Ightham Mote in Kent, a 700-year-old moated manor house in the care of the National Trust. After visiting the house and its gardens I was eager to walk in the woods on the estate. Given the time of year and because it was getting late we chose to take a short walk in Scathes wood, where the bluebells were in bloom. R shared her images from that visit in a blog post earlier this week. As usual, it takes me longer.

I started with a few photos of the usual ‘carpet of bluebells under the trees’, and some of other wild flowers. But the one I think I liked best was this one of the winding path among the trees, with a few clusters of bluebells.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. With the overcast skies there was no real need for filters, and therefore little to gain in setting up the tripod. Post processing involved the usual curves layers to adjust exposure and contrast, but if I remember well it was rather minimal with this shot.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

5 comments

  1. That’s a very nice picture! Makes me want to disappear down that path to investigate what lies ahead. On the other hand, I’m not in a rush to get there – I’m sure the journey would be at least as great as the destination. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Nice scene Johann. Just popping over to say many thanks for the follow on my own wee blog, it is really appreciated. Great to welcome you aboard and if you have any suggests / requests just drop me a line. Have a great weekend, MM 🍀

Leave a Comment

