Mesquita Square

Mesquita Square (1648)

This week I’m taking a bit of a break from the photos of spring to share with you another image from our trip to Malta a month ago. This trip I decided to take the photo gear that I usually pack for walks, with the intention of taking a few pictures of the place (rather than just the usual family moments). One of the days we spent doing touristy things, visiting a trio of sites in Mdina and Rabat, and in the afternoon were walking about the old city. R mentioned a particular square she had seen on a previous visit, with a rather particular well, and suggested I’d look it up. The only thing she remembered to identify the place was that this is where the ‘Mdina Experience’ was located. This made it rather easier to find than if I’d simply known the name of the place. All I had to do was to follow the signs.

To take this photo I set up on a tripod; this photo is the result of a single exposure. One major difficulty of taking pictures in the Mediterranean is the very harsh contrast you get in the sunlight. It seems the last few years in the UK made me forget just how strong the sun is down there. To compensate somewhat for this I used a polarizing filter (which reduces reflected light more than diffuse scattered light) and a grad filter. Since I don’t have a tilt/shift, I composed in a way that would allow me to correct for perspective in post, with some space for the final crop. Following this, I also applied curves layers to balance the exposure and contrast.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, as always.

5 comments

  1. Am I good at scouting places or what?! Very cheesy of me to post a comment on here I know, but I really do like this place a lot a lot. Mdina is a magical place. Worth checking it out when you’re in Malta.

Leave a Comment

