Bluebells in the Rain

Bluebells in the Rain (1949)

I realize that bluebell season is over for this year, and based on the last few posts you’re probably thinking I only take photos at Winkworth arboretum. And it’s rather ironic that this bluebell photo I’m sharing was one I took at the end of the visit, and was rather a grab. Sometimes it’s not the planned shots that we like most, but the ones that are the result of a quick reaction to changing conditions. So it makes sense to share this immediately after the rainbow I shared last week. This photo was taken just a few minutes later.

As I was walking back to the car, the rain caught up with me, though the sun was still shining from beyond. I liked the backlit leaves and rain, so I tried to capture what I saw. I took the photo handheld as a single exposure, avoiding the risk that the light would change too much by the time I set up the tripod. With the composition I had in mind I knew I would not want to use any filters, so there was less technical need for the tripod. At full resolution even the raindrops show clearly against the bark.

In post I did things rather differently than usual with this photo, compressing the inevitable contrast of a backlit scene while avoiding loss of detail in the textures. Let me know if you like the result.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

