Foot Bridge at Burbage Brook

Foot Bridge at Burbage Brook (2147-2148)

It’s not often that I go out specifically to take photos. More often than not, my intent is simply to go for a walk, and if I happen to take photos during that walk, so much the better. When I do go somewhere specifically for photography, it’s generally in the company of a friend (or more). In this case, after an afternoon bouldering at Burbage South Boulders, we decided to swap our climbing gear for the cameras and headed down the valley to the stream.

As evening approached, we were hoping for some interesting light, but sadly that was not to be. At least we did get a break in the persistent cloud cover. I had this kind of composition in mind as we walked down, and set up with a wide-angle lens accordingly. I used a soft grad filter to reduce the contrast between sky and foreground but it was not enough. Stacking filters did not give me the effect I wanted, so in the end I took two exposures: one for the sky and one for the foreground. These were composited later using layer masks. Post processing involved the use of selective curves layers to balance the exposure and adjust contrast.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

One comment

Leave a Comment

