Azalea Steps

Azalea Steps (1943)

The last time we visited Winkworth we went specifically for the bluebells. However, these were hardly the only flowers in bloom at that time. If the azaleas were not at their peak then, they were rather close, so the well-known azalea steps were a riot of colour. I tried a few compositions; the one I’m sharing today shows best just how much colour there was. Technically, I’m not too happy with the photo. In retrospect I should have used a smaller aperture to get everything in focus; here it’s not quite. I have a few others that I intend to share later.

I took the photo handheld as a single exposure. It was overcast and raining, so the light was rather soft. Post processing was minimal, I think just a global curves layer to fine tune contrast and exposure.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

