Solitary Oak

Solitary Oak (1330)

A very quick post before I head off for some climbing. Today’s photo is from Newlands corner, taken several months ago during a hike I led with the photographic society. I had to check: it was just the beginning of spring, though it’s clear that the tree is practically still bare. On this walk I took my zoom lens and I thought I’d experiment a bit trying to use it for the kind of detail shots in landscapes that I really like. I wasn’t so satisfied with quite a few of the resulting photos, mostly for technical reasons, but this came out quite well.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. I didn’t plan so initially, but in post I decided to process as B&W. If I remember correctly I used a (digital) red filter to increase contrast in the sky, and the usual curves layers to adjust exposure and contrast.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

 

2 comments

Leave a Comment

