Hobbit Country

Hobbit-Country-(7048)

This will be my last post before I leave the UK. So figuring out which photo to share took some thinking. In the end I decided on one that I took last year as I felt it appropriate. Over the past few years I have had the pleasure of walking about a considerable stretch of south east England. Basically anywhere within an hour or two’s drive of where we lived, depending on other plans for the day. It actually is a pleasant land of gentle rolling hills, and I have found the countryside a great place to recharge. It is also rather Tolkienesque. Today’s photo was taken during a walk in Puttenham, which is only a short drive away but still feels rather ‘out in the country’. I couldn’t help but feel the association with The Shire, with the pastures, ponies, fences, and all.

I took the photo handheld as a single exposure. At the time I don’t think I had bought the filters yet, so I generally went about without a tripod. Post processing involved the usual selective curves layers to balance contrast and exposure.

There will still be a number of photos from the UK that I’ll be sharing over the coming months, including a few that still need to be processed. Eventually I hope to add some of life in the Mediterranean.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

 

Leave a Comment

