St Paul’s

St Paul's (1990)

It has been a busy and eventful week, and have finally started settling in. There are still a few more critical things to happen, but at this point at least life has started taking some sort of order again. With some luck I’ll even have my PC set up soon. Meanwhile, I can’t get used to this heat. I can only hope I’ll be able to enjoy the seaside before work starts again. At least that will be some relief.

Until then I can look back at the many photos I’ve taken in England. Today’s photo is from a quick short break in London a few months ago, visiting my brother (affectionately called J2 in R’s blog). I was lugging around my usual gear, which I’m sure R and J2 found baffling and amusing in equal measure. Now when I carry that stuff in the countryside it never really bothers me. There have been walks where I didn’t even take my camera out, and still wasn’t frustrated with having carried all that gear around. In a city, however, it feels different. I have no idea why. Anyway, on this particular day I really wanted to try my hand making some photos of various architectural landmarks. This is arguably the most recognizable of the lot. We approached St Paul’s cathedral from the south bank, crossing the Millennium Bridge. There is something I really like about this view of the cathedral’s side. Perhaps it’s the arrangement of ramps and stairs that leads up that way.

This was late afternoon, so there were a lot of people around. I set up on a tripod with a strong ND filter to take long exposures. The main reason was to blur people out. I find these filters also help soften the light and reduce contrast, which tends to be a good thing with architecture. In post I corrected perspective, and applied the usual selective curves layers to adjust exposure and contrast. I cropped to a 4×5 layout, which I find works well with perspective-corrected photos.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

2 comments

Leave a Comment

