Another View of Winkworth Arboretum

WInkworth Arboretum (1927)Among the many National Trust properties around where we lived, Winkworth Arboretum deserves a special place. If there is such a thing as a favourite NT place, this is one of them for me. I have visited in all seasons and in all conditions; well, almost. I haven’t really seen it piled deep in snow. There is always something to see there, and it’s such a peaceful place.

I made this particular photo in early spring, when we visited specifically for the bluebells. That was magical, as always, and when we were done I decided to walk the long way around the property. It was raining, which I find always makes the grass so much greener and the smells earthier. This view is one I particularly like. I spent a while there just soaking it in. Sure, the bluebells don’t show up much, but you can see just how many different kinds of trees grow in this place.

I’m not entirely certain, but I think I took this photo handheld. It was definitely a single exposure. Post processing was minimal, involving only selective curves layers to balance exposure and adjust contrast.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

 

Leave a Comment

