Clifftop Walk at Birling Gap

Clifftop Walk at Birling Gap (2449)

Yesterday I found some more time to continue processing my photos from the summer. I managed to complete this one, which turned out to be a relatively easy process. I drove down to Birling Gap almost two months ago, with the plan to walk along the cliffs to Beachy Head and back. This I did and enjoyed; in the middle of all the move-related commotion, it was a welcome break.

Before starting the walk proper, I looked back west and could just see this view in black and white. So I did something I don’t often do, and set my camera to B&W mode with a (digital) red filter applied, to help me see the intended result. This setting makes no material difference to the RAW image, and one can easily recover the colour information by setting a different profile in post. But doing it in-camera can help confirm how the photo will look later.

I waited for the walker to get to the right place and took this photo handheld as a single exposure. In post I set the RAW conversion mode to the usual ‘Faithful’, and transferred the image to Photoshop. There I applied selective curves layers to brighten up the sky and increase contrast in the distant cliffs. It was a rather hazy day, so this made a substantial difference. Finally, a B&W conversion layer with a red filter completed processing.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

One comment

Leave a Comment

