That’s My Spot

That's My Spot (1524)

This photo brings back some fun memories. I was at Winkworth arboretum with a few friends from the photographic society, and we sat down for a few minutes with one of our company who had just arrived, on foot, from Guildford. (It’s about six miles, I reckon.) We were also quietly observing the geese. Suddenly, this particular goose made for where I was sitting, and, vocally, made it clear that she (I suppose) wanted me to move. Luckily my camera was in hand, and mostly set up; I barely had time to compose and take a few shots before I really had to move away.

I still have no idea what was bothering it. I guess she thought I must have some food with me (which I did not, having already finished my lunch). In any case, I don’t make it a habit of feeding the animals. It’s generally rather poor practice to do so.

Obviously, I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. Post processing was very minimal, I think just a curves layer to adjust exposure and contrast. For some reason, what happened reminded me a lot of Sheldon, and his attachment to a particular seating arrangement.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

