Luxemburgerli

Over the last couple of years, following my closer involvement with the photographic society at the University of Surrey, I have been shooting more photos, and generally sharing at least one photo a week on this blog. More recently the average has been closer to two a week, at least until we moved back to Malta. Since then, things have slowed down a bit, but I still have several images I want to share. In the interest of keeping things current, I intend to share all pending images by Christmas. This should help me focus on newer photographic objectives in Malta (and whatever travels come along) for the coming year. And of course helps remind me that there are still several sets to be processed.

Expect to continue seeing some newer stuff on Mondays, which has become my main blogging day. I’ll probably share older images, those that I never quite got around to sharing, on Wednesdays and Fridays. Time permitting, of course.

Luxemburgerli-(6548)

To kick things off, here’s a couple of photos of a souvenir from a short visit to Zurich last year. I tend to go for foodie stuff when looking for mementos to bring back. R never complains. I was there for a conference, and one of the attendees, an Italian who worked there, highly recommended these sweet treats as The Thing To Get. They’re effectively mini macarons, but don’t call them by that name there!

Luxemburgerli-(6537)

R originally wrote about these on her blog. I took both photos handheld as a single exposure. At the time I was still using the 30D, which has an APS-C size sensor. Both photos were taken with the 50mm f/1.4, which gives a very usable field of view (equivalent to about 80mm on a full frame), and a shallow depth of field. Both pieces of kit are now mostly in R’s hands, and I must say I miss that field of view. I tried the 85mm f/1.8 a few months ago, which is rather similar on my current full-frame camera, and I must say I am tempted. But then I’ve already bought more than enough lenses to keep me busy…

Click on the photos for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

