Near Peter’s Pool

Near Peter's Pool (2860)

Near Peter’s Pool. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Another quick post today for B&W Challenge Day 3, nominating Jaime. This time it’s a photo I took earlier this month on a walk along the south coast of Malta (mostly in the rain). I had this kind of photo in mind so I took the telephoto lens with me. However, I knew I would have little time for photography so I didn’t take the tripod, filters, etc. I wanted some movement in the water, which obviously needs a slow shutter speed. This was as slow as I dared without the tripod. Consider this a rough sketch of something that I will revisit.

I took the photo handheld as a single exposure. Post processing involved selective curves layers to adjust contrast and a monochrome conversion layer. The white foam was particularly tricky; I’ll have to keep that in mind for next time.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

