St Michael’s Square

St Michael's Square (2890)

St Michael’s Square. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Something a little different today for B&W Challenge Day 4. At this point in the challenge, nominations are a bit tricky, as most of the photography people I know personally have already been nominated. Still, I will go with my initial intentions. Kinga, you’re next – I bet your style of photos will look great in B&W.

This is the bridge at Sint-Michielsplein in Ghent, Belgium, as evening approached last Saturday. St Michael’s church was at my immediate right (not visible here) as I took this photo. Ghent is a fantastically beautiful medieval city. I’m told it’s similar to Bruges (which I haven’t visited yet) but much less touristy. Especially in November.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. I was travelling light (read: carry-on backpack only) so I didn’t have my tripod or filters. I took a test frame to make sure exposure was set correctly, then waited for the right combination of passers-by. In post, after perspective correction and minor cropping, I used selective curves layers to balance exposure. Once again, I did a B&W conversion with selective filters: blue for the shadow areas to increase contrast and yellow for the sunlit areas to improve definition.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

3 comments

Leave a Comment

