Ightham Mote

Ightham Mote (1799)

Ightham Mote. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

This week is proving to be another very busy one, and I missed the usual Monday blog post. I’ve also missed my regular indoor archery session, but with some luck I’ll make up for that later this week, outdoors. Anyway, after a week of B&W photos, it’s time for some colour again, so today I’m sharing a photo I took at Ightham Mote in spring this year. I remember the bluebells were out, so it was rather early in the season. Now, if you haven’t visited this gem of a medieval manor house, do yourself a favour and go. Where else can you get a moated medieval home with beautiful gardens and lovely woods, within easy reach of the motorway system? As I’m sure you can tell, we really enjoyed our visit.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. I only had to wait a while to avoid getting other visitors in the picture, and composed with a wide angle lens to get the moat and as much of the house as possible in view, while also keeping the beflowered wall. In post I used selective curves layers to balance the exposure of the sky and foreground and improve contrast.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

