Bundle of Wheat on a Bench

 

Wheat (2357)

Wheat. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Something newly processed, if not quite new itself. Earlier this year – I actually had to check the dates on the image, this was fairly early summer – I went for a walk in Kingley vale with Andy. I took more than a few photos, but never quite got around to processing them. Sometimes I’d start tinkering with an image, remain unimpressed, and just let it be. Until last weekend I managed to process a couple from that set. The highlight of the walk, for me, were the ancient burial mounds and yew groves, but the first successful photos, I think, were the ones that came towards the end of the walk. We finished (well, pretty much) in Stoughton, and visited the medieval parish church. In the porch I found two decorations of sorts – this bundle of dried wheat, and a vase of fresh flowers, both sitting on a bench. I thought they make a great pair, so made photos of each.

 

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. Post processing involved the use of selective curve layers to balance the exposure and contrast. Sometimes it’s really the unplanned that works out.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Comment

