Triplets

Triplets (1217)

Triplets. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Another Friday flower, this time from late last winter. I think these are a species of snowdrop. As winter neared its end I always looked out for snowdrops, an early sign of the coming spring. These were growing just outside our front door in Guildford, so I did something I don’t do often enough: went up for my camera and came back down again to make the most of the fading light. I had to shoot almost from the floor to get some contrast against the red brick. In retrospect I wish I had tried a smaller aperture as well, to get more than a sliver of depth of field. I was still getting used to the macro lens, and how shallow the depth of field can be.

I took this photo handheld as a single exposure. Post processing was minimal.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

