Walkers in Line

Walkers in Line (3085)

Walkers in Line. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Most of my walks in England were done in solitude. I often passed by other walkers (or more likely, they passed me by), but I rarely encountered many. I only joined an organized walk once, and R thought they were going too quickly to really enjoy the scenery – I think she was right. Walking alone has its advantages: all plans are soft, and if any location strikes your fancy you can stop for as long as you wish. Works great for taking photos – I find I often stop for as long as half an hour in a single spot to get a shot. Any company would quickly get bored.

Anyway, all this to say that since we moved back to Malta it’s been rather the opposite. I was pleasantly surprised at how many organized walks there are: seems it’s mostly a matter of choosing your company and timings that work with your schedule. And it’s clear there’s a huge demand for this, as the attendance for the walks I’ve been to has been huge. A week ago I joined a walk led by Aaron Micallef, a local marine geologist (and as it turns out a colleague at the University) to Qammieħ point in the north of the island. It was held within a series of regular (and really well-attended) walks organized by Mario Scerri. Fun, informative, and a great way to spend a Sunday morning.

The photo above was towards the end of the walk, as the group approached the area known as iċ-Ċumnija. As the clouds moved, I could see the light shifting across the landscape. I focused on the walkers as they went up the ridge, and waited until the light was in the right place, with the cliff behind in shadow.

Click on the photo for a larger version; comments welcome, and of course feel free to share the link.

Leave a Comment

