Narcissus

Narcissus (3273)
Narcissus. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

During yesterday’s walk I didn’t take a single photo; sometimes it’s like that. The walk itself was great, and it’s not the first time this has happened. I don’t mind – it’s not like I went out specifically for taking photos. So today’s photo is from a week ago, on a walk around Siġġiewi. With the rain we’ve been having, the grass is really luxuriant and the flowers have already started blooming. I was initially under the impression that the yellow flower was the French Daffodil (Narcissus tazetta) known in Malta as Narċis. On closer examination, however, it looks more like the Ħaxixa Ingliża (Bermuda Buttercup). Well, so much for my knowledge of plants. Though I was pleasantly surprised yesterday to recognize some red campion growing among the rocks.

I took this photo as the rain eased a bit. I did not take the lens’s hood with me, so a few drops made it onto the front element, and reduced contrast in parts of the image. Cleaning those up in post was a bit of a headache. Next time I’ll remember to pack the hoods – while the protection they give on a wide angle lens is minimal, it might just be enough.

Leave a Comment

