Twin Caves at Lapsi

Twin Caves at Lapsi (3289)
Twin Caves at Lapsi. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Yesterday’s walk was a thoroughly enjoyable ramble along the cliffs from Lapsi to the neolithic temples of Mnajdra and Ħaġar Qim (and back, of course). Winter is almost over, and we were blessed with perfect weather for this walk: sunny, but no more than warm. I had read about possible walks in the area, and was a little concerned that some sections (particularly the last leg climbing the cliff below the temples) might be a tad exposed. But such was not the case. Or perhaps my handling of heights has improved over the years. I know the climbing has helped.

This photo is from the start of the walk, just beyond the car park at Lapsi. The two caves in the cliffs up ahead are well known within the climbing community; there are a number of routes of varying difficulty. As a matter of fact, the last time I was in the area was for a club meet.

I made an effort not to take too long to start sharing images from this walk. Though finding time to process the images is proving difficult. Still, with some luck I may soon be able to start sharing more than one image every week. I am starting to transition to a different workflow for my editing process, starting with DxO Optics instead of Canon DPP for the RAW conversion. It will take some getting used to.

I also keep reminding myself about the places I want to revisit for sunrise or sunset. For some places it is already too late in the year, with the spring equinox fast approaching. For some others it will soon be ideal. Now I’ll just need to resolve myself to some early starts.

Leave a Comment

