Last Supper at Lija

Last Supper at Lija (3452-3462)
Last Supper at Lija. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Today’s photo is the classic view of the Last Supper I referred to in my last post. Well, almost. I chose a wider lens than other similar shots I’ve seen, to emphasise the length of the table and add some drama. I was lucky enough to have been given permission to use a tripod, so the dim lighting was no issue. It is surprising how dim the light is, keeping in mind this was during the morning.

Actually, using a tripod was also essential for another reason. Since I made this during visiting hours, there were always people in the shot. With any wide angle photography in non-remote place this tends to be a permanent issue. I planned to resolve this by taking multiple exposures, making sure that each region of the photo was unoccluded in at least one of the exposures. Later I could create a composite from these exposures, in each case avoiding the regions with people visible. The only area I couldn’t do this was the chair near the side door, as this was always occupied. In retrospect I think having a person there helps lend some scale to the whole thing, so it’s not too bad after all.

As I’m sure you’ve realised, the photo in the last post was a detail shot of the spot-lit chalice at the head of the table.

Leave a Comment

