Vanguard

Vanguard (0787)
Vanguard. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Before Earth Day is completely over, I wanted to share with you this photo from autumn in England two years ago. I would have liked to post this earlier, but after work I drove up to Wied il-Għasel in Mosta to meet with people from the climbing club. I had never been to that valley, so I parked further out than I needed to, for a nice walk in (and out). The crag is in a fantastic setting, overlooking the valley, but access is less obvious than I’m used to, and it also involved a bit of scrambling (with a fixed rope for help). I’ll need to go there again with a camera.

Anyway, I took this photo on a great walk near Westerham, Kent, just across the border from Surrey. I had previously shared two other photos from this walk: the Old Watcher, and Overlooking Squerryes Court. I don’t know why I waited so long to share this. Oh wait, actually I do: it’s just that I had other photos I wanted to share, and this just slipped through the cracks…

You may think the hand of Man had little to do with this landscape, but that would be far from the mark. Much of the countryside in South East England has been managed for centuries, and while it may look very natural, in a sense it’s anything but. One good thing, from my point of view, is that there are still many places where Man has found a way to coexist with nature in a sustainable way. It’s a tricky balance, and I’m sure many will argue where that balance ought to be. But that’s an argument worth having.

Leave a Comment

