Campanula Medium Pink

Campanula Medium Pink (2179)
Campanula Medium Pink. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

As a quiet weekend comes to an end, I’m taking some time to share a photo from Chartwell taken almost a year ago. On that visit we spent most of our time with the flowers, and the macro lens really came into its own here. I have already shared other photos from this visit, and there are still more to come.

For once I know exactly what the name of this particular flower is, for I had the presence of mind to take a photo of the label that the gardeners wrote to identify it. I really liked both the shape and the colour of this little flower. The petals looked all so delicate and the soft colour somehow enhanced that perception.

Flowers are such a pleasure to photograph. I never thought I’d be much of macro photographer – actually I bought this lens expecting R would be using it most, but she seems to have stuck with the 50mm (on a crop sensor) as her favourite field of view. I must say I quite like the 100mm on my full frame, and really need to use it more. Sadly, I haven’t been carrying it much with me lately, favouring my zoom lenses for sheer convenience. Perhaps it’s time to constrain myself a little.

Leave a Comment

