Fern in the Rain

Fern in the Rain (2201)
Fern in the Rain. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

I just got back from a walk in Miżieb; the sun is shining and it’s frankly another perfect Mediterranean late spring day. I think it’s too hot to walk around already, or rather that anything outside should happen very early or very late in the day. Yesterday I went to the outdoor range when most of the other archers had already left, and spent a couple hours there before the sun set. There was a light breeze, the sun was low and golden, and the birds were twittering away as they prepared for the end of another day.

Why do I mention this? Perhaps because the photo I’m sharing today reminds me of an equally precious day in about the same time of year, though in very different conditions. This photo is from the same visit to Chartwell where I took the view of the house from across the pond, and several photos of flowers. After spending some time with the flowers I went for a walk in the estate, and as I recall it rained. At one point I came across this fern by the path, growing amid the tree roots.

It took me a while to share this because quite frankly I couldn’t get it to work. It was only recently that I became adept enough at post processing to get this to where I wanted. Sometimes I just browse through the archives and try my hand at shots that I know have potential but that I could never quite work out. More often than not it still won’t work, and it’s rather frustrating. Sometimes, though, if I’m in the right frame of mind and if my skills have caught up with what I want to achieve, I’m surprised by something good. I say it’s worth the risk.

Leave a Comment

