Quiet Moments

Quiet Moments (3645)
Quiet Moments. (Click on the photo for added detail.)

Something a little different than usual today. Lately I’ve been trying to experiment with making minimalist images. I find myself drawn to minimalist imagery, whether in photography or painting, but for some reason I really never do that kind of thing. Perhaps it’s just because it’s more challenging than it might look. Which is yet another reason for me to try my hand at it more often.

In landscapes I find that the first time I visit a place, I’m taken in by the view. Which usually translates to a wide angle photo. On further visits, I start to notice little details, which look great as extracts with a telephoto lens. Perhaps after enough visits, I get to work with the overall ambience / feeling of the place. Who knows, that might translate well in more minimalist images.

I took this particular photo a short while after one with the tower at Għajn Tuffieħa. I set up for a long exposure using a couple of hard-edged ND grads. In post, I darkened the image considerably, burning the cliffs until the detail is barely discernible, and the blue sea almost fades to black.

Leave a Comment

