Cliff Wall Above Fawwara

Cliff Wall Above Fawara (3718)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

I meant to write this blog post yesterday, but as things turned out I didn’t have the time. So I’m making up for that by writing this early today. I haven’t done much photography lately – I think this will be the way of things while I live in this country. For one thing it’s far too warm for walking during the day, so my usual “let’s go for a walk and see what we see” doesn’t work well. Instead, when I’m out it’s usually for another purpose, where I don’t take my photo gear. If I’m climbing rock, my bag’s already full with other gear, and the last thing I want on my hands (and mind) is the camera. It’s even more of a foregone conclusion when I’m off for a swim. Last thing I want is to leave my camera gear in a bag on the beach. Even if it’s a very out-of-the-way secluded place. Still, one of these days I really need to take my camera on my climbing outings. At least one day when I don’t plan to climb much (or at all).

Back to today’s photo. I took this around midsummer, on a walk to catch the sunset at Dingli. I had already taken some evening photos from this place in winter, so I wasn’t planning any wide shots. Instead, I had my telephoto lens on, and looked for interesting ‘extracts’. This is one of them, showing a cliff face above the tiny hamlet of Fawwara. From the distance, I couldn’t help but try to figure out how one would reach the lower ledges, whether there are any obvious lines up the cliff face, and whether the rock would be good and solid or friable. My guidebooks list absolutely nothing on the west coast north of Xaqqa or south of Fomm ir-Riħ, so basically nothing within several miles of this place. I wonder.

One comment

Leave a Comment

