Yew Detail

Yew Detail (2347)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

Today I thought I’d share with you the companion image to last week’s yew grove. We came upon this sheltered clearing in the woods soon after leaving the barrows. The light was soft and it all looked special. So we spent some time there trying out various compositions. While my friend worked on a Brenizer of the tree in the background I tried not to get in the way and worked on this instead. I really liked the way the moss and lichen looked in the soft light, and all that detail in the bark.

I’m not sure I had my macro lens with me; probably not, or I would have used that for this shot. Its larger aperture would have been useful. It’s been a year, so I’m not even sure if I used my tripod or not. I don’t think I did, as I took this at a rather high ISO, and still the shutter speed was slow. Thankfully, the active stabilisers in these modern lenses work wonders, and the shot is sharp enough to allow enlargement. (I’m keeping redacted EXIF data in my images, so if you’re curious about the settings, pop over on Flickr, or examine the image yourself.)

5 comments

Leave a Comment

