Sunburnt Cliffs and Crystalline Sea

Sunburnt Cliffs and Crystalline Sea (3547)
(Click on the photo for added detail.)

I was rather surprised this week with the popularity of the Mġarr ix-Xini photo, particularly with my Maltese friends. I suppose the pull of the sea remains what it is. So today I decided to share another photo from our coastline. I took this during a walk at l-Aħrax tal-Mellieħa in late spring this year. It’s a particularly rugged piece of coastline, and I realise now that I had not shared anything yet from this walk.

The sun was bright, and I had a hard time with exposure. It was one of those days I wished I had my tripod with me and enough time to play around. Technically I’m not happy with this, as the highlights burnt out, but overall I’m still happy with the composition and the textures of the rock and the sea. Malta is a weird place for landscape work, as the rock and the buildings tend to be brighter than the sky, and one really has to be careful. With a tripod I could have improved things, perhaps with filters (and some difficulty) or at the worst case with multiple exposures. I guess this will have to remain as a self-assignment for another day.

Leave a Comment

